When is the healing over?

Healing seems like a life-long process the moment there is a need to heal — heartache, betrayal, a loss, and etcetera. For me, I never realized how tiresome the process of healing was until there was a need for me to heal. After trauma, it’s hard to be patient when trying to regain your old self. It becomes something you want so badly, that healing, in turn, becomes the burden, more than the trauma.

I’m currently in a position where healing has become the burden. I have racked my brain with finding solutions, my fingers have ached from Googling self-help advice, my eyes have strained from YouTube videos on healing, and my body has become sore from immense exercise with the goal of feeling better. Lately, however, I have come to realize that there is nothing you can do to speed up healing… Unfortunately, it is something you have to ride for however long the time is set.

I believe that understanding this concept might help with the question “when is the healing over?” To have an end goal of betterment is okay, but speeding up a naturally slow process of betterment and healing, on the contrary, slows it down.

Just a friendly reminder to get better and to heal, slowly and entirely.

– Jessa

Leave a comment